The George Hammond Award

Recognizing a Lifetime of Dedication, Leadership, and Passion for Community

The George Hammond Award was created by the Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity Board of Directors in April 2018 to honor the legacy, extraordinary service and outstanding contributions of longtime volunteer George Hammond.

We are pleased to announce the 4th George Hammond Award Winners: Laurel and Art Thorstensen.

Watch Art and Laurel Thorstensen receive the award!

About George

George Hammond and Don Harris at the Keller Family Home 2 2011

George Hammond is the namesake and first recipient of the George Hammond Award.

George is a man of commitment – service to God, his family, his country, and also to Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity and the families it serves. George is humble. He is never motivated by recognition; in fact, the very opposite is true. While he is always appreciative, his motivation is for accomplishing the job at hand and serving the need versus any self-serving purpose. And George is a role model – he leads by doing and setting a good example.

These characteristics that most stand out about George Hammond, and his more than 30 years of tireless dedication to Pikes Peak Habitat, are why he is the worthy recipient not just of this award, but of it being created in his name. George has worked on all but one house Pikes Peak Habitat has built to date.

The Award

A recipient of the George Hammond Award is a volunteer who truly is noteworthy for their constant contributions to the mission of Pikes Peak Habitat - a constant supporter, a constant advocate and, most importantly, a constant leader.

The award is presented at the annual Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity Volunteer Appreciation Event and shortly thereafter, and wherever possible, highlighted at an event open to the public, such as an annual gala/ball. Maximum effort is made to alert all media to the George Hammond Award and each recipient.

At the award presentation, flowers, a trophy and a framed certificate are given. A permanent plaque will be created and names of recipients added, as appropriate.

The George Hammond Award honors individuals who, through their tireless service to Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity, have exhibited qualities of leadership, an unwavering belief in Habitat’s ministry, and a deep devotion and passion to serve the community and people of El Paso County, Colorado.

For more than 30 years, George Hammond has been the committed builder of homes, communities, and hope in El Paso County. This award will recognize and be bestowed upon those volunteers who, in the Pikes Peak Habitat's George Hammond Award Board of Directors ad hoc committee’s opinion, have significantly given of themselves and provided positive mentoring, guidance, support and collaboration to future homeowners, volunteers and affiliate staff.

George Hammond Award pic with Kris

Sam Adams, former Pikes Peak Habitat Board of Directors President (left), and Kris Lewis, Pikes Peak Habitat Executive Director/CEO (right), present George Hammond (middle) with the George Hammond Award.

George Hammond Homes

A George Hammond Home is built to honor each award recipient, and its construction is undertaken primarily by Core Volunteers (with the exception of required trades). Typically, the build occurs in the next financial year (FY) after the award has been presented.

Whenever possible, the awardee is present at all ceremonies and other related events associated with their George Hammond Home. If the award is presented posthumously, then the awardee’s closest kin and friends are invited.

Appropriate branding and banners are on display at the construction site while the build is taking place.

The 1st George Hammond Home – Honoring George Hammond was built in 2018 (FY '19).

The 2nd George Hammond Home -- Honoring Harry Moore was constructed in our Micah’s View development and dedicated in 2021.

The 3rd George Hammond Home -- Honoring Tim Trowbridge was constructed in The Ridge at Sand Creek development and dedicated in 2023.

Three men standing in front of photo backdrop

From left, George Hammond, Harry Moore, and Tim Trowbridge at the 2024 Pikes Peak Habitat Volunteer Appreciation Event.

The George Hammond Award Nomination Process

We are not currently accepting nominations.
Men seated at table

A Pikes Peak Habitat for Humanity volunteer and staff member, who are both respectively currently volunteering or employed in good standing, may jointly nominate a fellow volunteer who is also current and in good standing with the affiliate (recently deceased volunteers included) for consideration for the George Hammond Award. A deadline of 30 days out will be posted once every financial year (FY) for the nomination window, via Pikes Peak Habitat's website and electronic newsletter.

An individual may only receive the George Hammond Award once, be it when they are alive or deceased.

It is envisioned that this award will not be presented annually, but rather bestowed when a volunteer is identified for their significant and positive contributions to the mission of Pikes Peak Habitat that are very similar in nature to the spirit and reason why the original award was established.