Now Hiring!        Real Estate Build          Spring Cleaning          Women Build

2019 Volunteer Appreciation Event

every hand makes a difference.

Thank you to the staff, Board members, and our dedicated volunteers and their families,
who joined us during this year's Volunteer Appreciation Event, sponsored by GE Johnson Construction.


In observance of this year's National Volunteer Week (April 7th - 13th, 2019),
we looked back at 2018 and celebrated volunteers for all the work they did
with us to build homes and transform lives through affordable homeownership.

IMG_0240 Mile High Youth Corps
IMG_0241 USAFA Preparatory School
IMG_0242 Paul McSpadden and Trevor Bennett
IMG_0222 Kris Medina, Ryan Mohling, Dave Warner
IMG_0231 Kris Medina, GE Johnson Construction Owners, Dave Warner
IMG_0186 Kris Medina, George Hammond, Dave Warner

Millard Fuller Award

Harry Moore

The volunteer who demonstrates leadership, going above and beyond the call of duty, and who exemplifies asking others to get involved.

(voted on by the PPHFH Board of Directors & Staff, Construction & ReStore Committees, and Volunteers)


Linda Fuller Award

Joel Hamilton

The volunteer who does an outstanding job in working with our partner families, and exemplifies compassion and devotion for our Habitat partner families during and after their path to homeownership.

(voted on by the PPHFH Board of Directors, Affiliate Committees, Volunteers, and Staff)


Journeyman Award

Barry Mullane

The volunteer who has made a long-term commitment to Habitat and performs vital behind-the-scenes work for our affiliate, and is ready and willing to do whatever is needed to keep Habitat running smoothly.

(Voted on by PPHFH Staff)


Construction Volunteer Group of the Year

USAFA Preparatory School

The volunteer group who volunteers frequently at our Habitat construction site. Not only does this group demonstrate outstanding construction ability, but this group also displays spirit and devotion to building Habitat homes.

(Construction award voted on by Construction Volunteers and Staff)


ReStore Volunteer Group of the Year

Mile High Youth Corps

The volunteer group who volunteers frequently at our Habitat ReStore. Not only does this group demonstrate outstanding retail ability, but this group also displays spirit and devotion to building Habitat homes.

(ReStore award voted on by ReStore Volunteers and Staff)


The Chris Brownlow Golden Hammer Award

Ryan Mohling

This award is named in honor of Chris Brownlow and is presented to the individual who displays the joyful and loving qualities Chris consistently demonstrated. These characteristics include strong leadership, always performing work with joy and a positive attitude, having a servant spirit and conducting him or herself in a manner that is synonymous with the philosophy of Habitat for Humanity both within and outside of the organization.

(Voted on by PPHFH Board of Directors)

Presidential Service Awards are awarded based on the number of volunteer hours performed in the calendar year. 

The 2018 Presidential Service Awardees are as follows:

Lifetime Service Award Winner

10,000+ Volunteer Hours

George Hammond

Gold Award Winner

500+ Volunteer Hours

Alex St. Clair
Frank Bernhard
George Hammond
Harry Moore
John Chittenden
John Comes
John Lesnak
Mike Gallagher

Silver Award Winner

250-499 Volunteer Hours

Barry Mullane
Bernie Redlinger
Don Kayon
Ed Santucci
Jim Nolan
Ken Percival
Paul McSpadden
Robert Ray
Ruth Love
Steve Boyce
Suzeanne Ballard

Bronze Award Winner

100-249 Volunteer Hours

Art Thorstensen
Bill Wall
Brian Espravnik, Jr.
Brian Espravnik, Sr.
Cathy Youngsma
Dean Myers
Ed Gass
Ed Hettler
Gregory Snodgress
Janel Wall
Jim Seibert
John Mack
Laurel Thorstensen
Mary Banner
Phil Larish
Robert Rose
Roger Condie
Tim Grant
Vern Kulham